A Complete Breakdown of Australia’s Big Bash League

big bash leagueThe Big Bash League, often shortened to the BBL, is a Twenty20 tournament that was created by Cricket Australia This competition is played every year in December, January, and February, which are the summer months in the southern hemisphere. Like the Indian Premier League (IPL), it is fiercely contested by eight franchises. Keep on reading to fill your mind with everything you need to know about this popular T20 tournament.

When Did the Big Bash League Begin?

The very first edition of this tournament took part in 2011. When the competition first came into being, each team that was participating had the chance to build their squad by offering players contracts. Since then, players can be added to each team using contracts, but no team can have more than 18 contracted players per season. Furthermore, each squad needs to have at least two rookie contracts and can only contain two players from overseas

Have a look at some facts about the Big Bash League


In the 2016-17 season, the Hobart Hurricanes scored 223 runs from their 20 overs, which is the highest score that has been scored in this competition.

In the 2014-14 season, the Melbourne Renegades were bowled out for a mere 57 runs inside 12.4 overs. This is the lowest score that a team has been bowled out for in the history of the tournament.

Michael Klinger has scored 1947 runs in 71 innings, making him the tournament’s leading runscorer.

D’Arcy Short scored 122* (from 69 balls) during the 2017-18 season, which is the highest individual score that this competition has seen.

Ben Laughlin has taken 95 wickets in 75 matches, making him the competition’s leading wicket taker.

In the 2012-13 season, Lasith Malinga took 6-7 from his 4 overs. These are the best bowling figures in the tournament’s history. Ish Shodi isn’t far behind as he took 6-11 from 3.3 overs.

Xavier Doherty, Andrew Tye, and Josh Lalor are the only players who have taken a hat-trick in this competition. Doherty managed it in the 2012-13 season, Tye in the 2016-17 and 2017-18 seasons, and Lalor in the 2018-19 season.

What Teams Compete in This Cricket Tournament?

Eight teams compete in this competition and the table below details what city and state they are from, the home ground that they play their cricket at, as well as who their coaches and captains are.


State City Cricket Ground Coach


Adelaide Strikers

South Australia Adelaide Adelaide Oval Jason Gillespie

Travis Head

Brisbane Heat

Queensland Brisbane The Gabba Darren Lehmann

Chris Lynn

Hobart Hurricanes

Tasmania Hobart Bellerive Oval Adam Griffith

Matthew Wade

Melbourne Renegades

Victoria Melbourne Docklands Stadium Andrew McDonald

Aaron Finch

Tom Cooper

Melbourne Stars

Victoria Melbourne Melbourne Cricket Ground David Hussey

Glenn Maxwell

Perth Scorchers

Western Australia Perth Perth Stadium Adam Voges

Mitchell Marsh

Ashton Turner

Sydney Sixers

New South Wales Sydney Sydney Cricket Ground Greg Shipperd

Moises Henriques

Sydney Thunder

New South Wales Sydney Sydney Cricket Ground Shane Bond

Shane Watson

The matches between the two Melbourne teams and the two Sydney teams are the most attended games and are eagerly anticipated by fans.

What Format is Used in the Big Bash League?

From the 2011-12 season right up until the 2017-18, there were eight rounds, with four matches per round. Each team played everyone once and another team twice, meaning that the Melbourne and Sydney teams had the chance to play two derbies a season. Therefore, every team played eight matches in the group stage, four away and four at home, with the top four teams qualifying for the semi-finals.

For the 2017-18 season, the format changed slightly so that each team played ten matches in the group stage.

In the 2018-19 season, the format changed once again so that each team plays every other team twice (home and away), with the top four qualifying for the semi-finals.

Regarding who plays who in the semi-finals, the team that finishes top of the group table will play the team that finishes fourth, while the team that comes second will play the team that finishes third.

The final is always played at the stadium of the higher ranked team.

What Type of Prize Money is Involved?

The prize money is nowhere close to that of the Indian Premier League, but the winners still get a decent return. The table below gives a breakdown of the money that teams receive based on their final positions.

Final Position

Prize Money (Australian Dollars)









*With the popularity of this tournament increasing with each passing year, the prize money awarded is only going to increase in size.

These Are the Teams That Have Won the BPL

From the eight teams that compete in this competition, six of them have won it at least once. In the table below you will be able to see which team has won each season, how much they won by, as well as who the runners-up were.


Winner Runner-up

Winning Margin


Sydney Sixers Perth Scorchers

7 wickets


Brisbane Heat Perth Scorchers

34 runs


Perth Scorchers Hobart Hurricanes

39 runs


Perth Scorchers Sydney Sixers

4 wickets


Sydney Thunder Melbourne Stars

3 wickets


Perth Scorchers Sydney Sixers

9 wickets


Adelaide Strikers Hobart Hurricanes

25 runs


Melbourne Renegades Melbourne Stars

13 runs

As you can see, the Perth Scorchers are the most successful team in this tournament, having won the title three times. The Hobart Hurricanes and the Melbourne Stars are the only two teams that are yet to win this competition.

For a complete breakdown of where each team has finished over the last eight seasons, check out the table below.


2011-12 2012-13 2013-14 2014-15 2015-16 2016-17 2017-18


Adelaide Strikers

6th 5th 7th SF SF 6th W


Brisbane Heat

5th W 5th 8th 6th SF 7th 5th

Hobart Hurricanes

SF 6th R 5th 7th 7th R


Melbourne Renegades

7th SF 6th 6th 5th 5th SF


Melbourne Stars



Perth Scorchers



Sydney Sixers

W 7th SF R 8th R 5th


Sydney Thunder

8th 8th 8th 7th W 8th 6th



W = Winner
R = Runner-up
SF = Semi-finalists

There is Also a Women’s League As Well

It was revealed in January 2014, that a women’s BBL was in the pipeline due to more people becoming interested in women’s cricket. The following year it was announced that the first WBBL would take place during the 2015-16 season. It was declared that the team names would stay the same as in the men’s league, as well as the team colours.

It has the same format as the men’s league, with each team playing everyone twice and the top four teams qualifying for the semi-finals. Once again, first will play fourth and second will play third.

The first tournament was won by Sydney Thunder, with the other three being won by the Sydney Sixers (2016-17 and 2017-18), and Brisbane Heat.

Our Prognostics Page Gives Tips on All the Big Matches

Some people like to dive right in and start placing bets without really knowing much about the competition or teams that they are betting on. Okay, if you do this, you might get lucky and win a couple of times, but we all know that luck doesn’t last forever. Sooner or later it will run out and you will find yourself losing more than you are winning.

This is why we highly recommend that you take a look at our prognostic pages before placing any bets. We will give you tips on each match that will almost certainly improve your chances of winning.

Best Bookmakers
Review : 10Cric India
Review : 10Cric India

The most popular betting site amongst Indians.

Review : Betway India
Review : Betway India

Betway is amongst the TOP bookmakers in the world.

Review : 22bet India
Review : 22bet India

A worldwide leader in Sports betting. A sure and good choice!

Review : Spin Sports India
Review : Spin Sports India

A major competitor in the world of sports betting.

Review : Royal Panda India
Review : Royal Panda India

A jungle of great odds awaits you!