Bangladesh Premier League 2021 News and Stats

The Bangladesh Premier League, or BPL for short, is a T20 tournament that was created by the Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB). Seven teams compete in this tournament that usually occurs every year in November. It is fast becoming one of the most attended cricket tournaments in the world. All the information you could ever wish to know for successful online cricket betting in this competition can be found below.

BPL 2021

The 2020–21 BPL season will be the eighth season of the Bangladesh Premier League. It is the highest level of professional Twenty20 cricket in Bangladesh. The 8th season is scheduled to start in early March 2021 and the final is expected to happen in April. The complete BPL 2021 schedule has not been confirmed yet by the BCB. Over the course of the competition 46 cricket matches will be played in the following venues in Bangladesh:

  • Sher-e-Bangla Cricket Stadium, Dhaka
  • Zohur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium, Chittagong
  • Sylhet International Cricket Stadium, Sylhet

Seven teams will compete in the league this year. The Chittagong Vikings will not take part in the 2021 season, so the remaining teams are the following:


  • Jamuna Bank Dhaka Platoon
  • Premier Bank Khulna Tigers
  • Rajshahi Royals
  • Rangpur Rangers
  • Chattogram Challengers
  • Cumilla Warriors
  • Sylhet Thunder



When Was the Inaugural Bangladesh Premier League?

After the success of the Indian Premier League, the BCB wanted a piece of the action, so they established a six-year deal with the Game on Sports Group so that they could create their own T20 franchise competition. The inaugural BPL was scheduled to place in 2012, and, before it did, the BCB held an auction to allow companies the chance to buy the rights to a franchise.

Whereas the IPL uses an auction to allow owners to fill their squad, the BPL makes use of the draft system (like the Pakistan Super League) . This means that each team takes it in turn to select the players they want to have on their team. Each team can only have a maximum of 18 players, and only 5 of those are allowed to be overseas players.

In the 2019 season, the Rangpur Riders scored 239 runs from their 20 overs. This is the highest team total ever scored.

In the 2016 season, the Khulna Titans were bowled out for 44 runs in just 10.4 overs. This is the lowest team total ever scored.

Tamim Iqbal has scored 1825 runs in 58 matches, making him leading runscorer in the competition.

The most runs ever scored in a season is 558. This was achieved by Rilee Rossouw in the 2019 edition.

Chris Gayle holds the record for the highest individual score (146*). He also holds the record for most sixes hit in the competition (120).

Shakib Al Hasan
has 106 wickets from 76 matches, making him the leading wicket taker in the tournament. He also holds the record for the most wickets taken in a single season (23).

Mohammad Samitook 6/5 in one game during the 2012 edition. These are the best bowling figures in a single match to date.

There have been five hat-tricks in the tournament. These were by Mohammad Sami, Al-Amin Hossain, Aliss Islam, Wahab Riaz, and Andre Russel.

What Teams Are in the BPL?

Seven teams compete in this tournament and you can find all the information you need to know about them below.


City Cricket Ground Captain Coach


Chittagong Vikings

Chittagong Zohur Ahmed Chowdury Stadium Mushfiqur Rahim Simon Helmot


Comilla Victorians

Comilla None Imrul Kayes Mohammad Salahuddin

Legends Sporting Limited

Dhaka Dynamites

Dhaka Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium Shakib Al Hasan Khaled Mahmud


Khulna Titans

Khulna None Mahmudullah Mahela Jayawardene

Gemcon Group

Rajshahi Kings

Rajshahi None Mehedi Hasan Lance Klusener

Mango Entertainment

Rangpur Riders

Rangpur None Mashrafe Mortaza Tom Moody

Bashundhara Group

Sylhet Sixers

Sylhet Sylhet International Cricket Stadium Alok Kapali Waqar Younis

Sylhet Sports Limited

What Format Does This Premier League Use?

Since the first edition in 2012, all seven teams have been put into one group and play each other twice. After all the group games have been played, the top four teams will go through to the play-off stage of the tournament. Here, the teams that finish as the top two play each other, with the winner qualifying for the final. The third and fourth placed teams will then play each other, and the winner will play the loser of the first match to see who else will contest the final.

What is the Prize Money of the BPL?

This is how the prize money is dished out in the BPL.


Prize Money ($)





3rd Place


4th place


Those players that win individual awards such as leading wicket taker and leading run scorer will pick up $50,000.

Previous BPL Champions

This tournament has taken place seven times and there have been five different winners. The information you are looking for regarding the tournament’s winners can be seen below.


Winner Runner-up

Winning Margin


Dhaka Gladiators Barisal Burners

8 wickets


Dhaka Gladiators Chittagong Kings

43 runs


Comilla Victorians Barisal Bulls*

3 wickets


Dhaka Dynamites Rajshahi Kings

56 runs


Rangpur Riders Dhaka Dynamites

57 runs


Comilla Victorians Dhaka Dynamites

17 runs


Rajshahi Royals Khulna Tigers/td>

21 runs

 * Barisal Bulls no longer compete in the tournament. They became defunct in 2017.

If you are interested in seeing how each team how done in each edition, the table below will give you what you are looking for.


2012 2013 2015 2016 2017


Comilla Victorians

DNP DNP W 6th 3rd W

Dhaka Dynamites

W W 4th W R


Khulna Titans

4th 7th DNP 3rd 4th


Rajshahi Kings

3rd 4th DNP R 6th


Rangpur Riders

DNP 5th 3rd 5th W


Sylhet Sixers

6th 3rd 5th DNP 5th


Barisal Bulls

R 5th R 7th DNP


Chittagong Vikings

5th R 6th 4th 7th



W = Winners

R = Runners-up

DNP = Did Not Play

Take a Look at Our Match Prognostics

We all need a bit of luck when we are gambling, but there are also ways that you can increase your odds of winning. One such way is by taking a look at the match prognostics that we provide. If you check them out regularly, we are certain that you will find yourself winning more than what you did when relying solely on luck.

Best Online Bookmakers
Betiton India Review
Betiton India Review

The newest sports betting site for India!

Casumo India Review
Casumo India Review

One of the most well-known and trusted betting sites online

10Cric Review
10Cric Review

The best online cricket bookie in India according to cricket fans!

Betway India Review
Betway India Review

Betway is one of the best cricket betting sites in the world!

22bet India Review
22bet India Review

A leading international sports betting site - a good choice for cricket betting.