Everything You Ever Wanted to Know about the Pakistan Super League

pakistan super leagueThe Pakistan Super League, also known as the PSL, is a T20 tournament that was created by the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB). This competition is played each year over a four-week period in February and March, with the first season being played in the United Arab Emirates (UAE) due to security issues in Pakistan. For more information about this Pakistani cricket tournament, carry on reading.

When Did the Pakistan Super League Begin?

The first edition of this competition was held in 2016, after two years of planning and two failed attempts. In October 2015, the PCB started to accept bids from interested parties to buy the rights to one of the five franchises that would compete in the tournament. All five teams were sold for a combined total of $93 million. In April 2017, the PCB decided to add a sixth team to the league and, once again, accepted bids for the franchise. This new team was eventually bought for $5.2 million per year, making them the most expensive team in the league. In 2018, the team was resold because of payment issues and fetched a whopping $6.35 million a year contract.

Whereas other T20 competitions, such as the Indian Premier League (IPL), make use of auctions for teams to acquire players, the PSL uses a draft system. This means that all eligible players who want to play in the league are put into a pool and each team takes it in turn to choose players. Each team is allowed a maximum of sixteen players and are allowed to have four back-up players just in case of injuries.


It is time for some stats!


Kamran Akmal has scored 1286 runs in 46 matches, making him the leading runscorer in the competition’s history.

Wahab Riaz has taken 65 wickets in 44 matches, making him the leading wicket-taker since the tournament began.

The most wickets taken in one season is 25, which was achieved by Hasan Ali.

During the 2016 season, Ravi Bopara achieved the best bowling figures in a match when he took 6 wickets for just 16 runs.

During the 2019 edition, Shaheen Afridi went for 62 runs from his 4 overs, which is the most runs a bowler has conceded in a single match.

Four bowlers have taken hat-tricks in this competition. These are Mohammad Amir, Imran Tahir, Junaid Khan, and Mohammad Sami.

What Teams Compete in the PSL?

Six teams play in this competition. All the information you need about these teams can be found in the following table.


CityCricket GroundCaptainCoach


Islamabad United

IslamabadRawalpindi Cricket StadiumShadab KhanDean Jones

Leonine Global Sports

Karachi Kings

KarachiNational StadiumImad WasimBrendon McCullum

ARY Group

Lahore Qalandars

LahoreGaddafi StadiumMohammad HafeezMahela Jayawardene

Qatar Lubricants Company

Multan Sultans

MultanMultan Cricket StadiumShoaib MalikMike Hesson

Ali Tareen and Taimoor Malik

Peshawar Zalmi

PeshawarArbab Niaz StadiumDarren SammyMohammad Akram

Haier Pakistan

Quetta Gladiators

QuettaBugti StadiumSarfaraz AhmedMoin Khan

Omar Associates

What Format Will You Find in This Cricket League?

The six teams are placed into one group and each team plays every other team twice, with the 4 best teams going through to the play-offs. The teams that finish in the TOP 2 positions will play each other, with the winner going straight through to the final. The losing team will then play the winners of the match between the third and fourth placed teams, with the winning side going through to compete in the final.
If scores are tied at the end of the match, a super over is played to determine which side will get the two points for a win.

What is the Prize Money?

The table below reveals the prize money that was dished out for the 2019 edition.


Prize Money ($)





3rd Place


4th place


Additional prizes can be seen below.



Prize ($)

Shane Watson

Batsman of the Series


Hassan Ali

Bowler of the Series


Kieron Pollard

Best Fielder


Luke Ronchi

Safest Hands



Which Teams Have Lifted the Cup?

To date, there have been four editions of this tournament. The table underneath shows which teams have won it, how much they won by, and who were the unfortunate runners-up.



Winning Margin


Islamabad UnitedQuetta Gladiators

6 wickets


Peshawar ZalmiQuetta Gladiators

58 runs


Islamabad UnitedPeshawar Zalmi

3 wickets


Quetta GladiatorsPeshawar Zalmi

8 wickets


If you want to know how each team has performed in every tournament so far, please check out the table below.




Islamabad United


Karachi Kings



Lahore Qalandars



Multan Sultans



Peshawar Zalmi



Quetta Gladiators




W = Winners

R = Runners-up

N/A = Did not compete

As is shown, Islamabad United are the most successful team to date as they have won the tournament twice.

For All the Matches, visit our Prognostics Page

We all know that luck plays a huge part when you are gambling, but there are a number of ways that you can determine your own betting fate. One such way is to take a look at our match prognostics.

We will provide you with fantastic tips that you can make use of and increase your chances of winning. We make sure that you no longer need to rely solely on luck.

Best Bookmakers
Why is 10Cric so Popular Among Indian Players? Find out Here
Why is 10Cric so Popular Among Indian Players? Find out Here

The most popular betting site amongst Indians.

Everything You Need to Know about Betway India
Everything You Need to Know about Betway India

Betway is amongst the TOP betting sites in the world.

How Is Spin Sports Compared to Its Competitors? Find out Here
How Is Spin Sports Compared to Its Competitors? Find out Here

A major competitor in the world of sports betting.

Is Royal Panda Worth Signing Up To?
Is Royal Panda Worth Signing Up To?

A jungle of great odds awaits you!

4.5 rating
The most popular betting site amongst Indians.
5.0 rating
Betway is amongst the TOP betting sites in the world.
4.8 rating
A worldwide leader in Sports betting.