Enjoy All of the Latest Karnataka Premier League Stats

Home » Today’s Match Prediction » Learn More about Eleven Indian Competitions » Enjoy All of the Latest Karnataka Premier League Stats

The Karnataka Premier League, also known as the KPL, is a twenty over cricket Indian cricket league that was created by the KSCA(Karnataka State Cricket Association). It is a two week (give or take) competition between seven or eight teams that usually starts sometime at the end of August or the beginning of September. If you are intrigued to find out more, please keep on reading.

When Did the Karnataka Premier League First Take Place?

The very first KPL tournament took place during the 2009-10 cricket season. Before the tournament began, an auction took place so that companies could bid to sponsor the eight teams that were going to participate. Over 35 crores, which is the equivalent to just over $5 million, were spent at this auction, with 7.2 crores ($1 million) spent on Bengaluru alone.

Below you will find a bunch of interesting stats about this tournament!
On the 10th September 2014, Hubli Tigers scored 245 runs from their twenty overs. This is, to this day, still the highest score ever scored in the KPL. They went on to win the match by 136 runs, which is the biggest victory to date.

On the 19th of September, 2017, MysuruW. were bowled out in 11.1 overs for just 52 runs. This is the lowest score ever hit in this competition.

On the 27th September 2010, the Brigadiers were bowled out for 89 runs in just 12 overs. Out of their 89 runs, 29 of them were extras, which is the record number of extras conceded by a team in this tournament.

On the 23rd August 2019, Krishnappa Gowthamscored 134*, which is the highest score that has been scored in this competition. He also has 73 wickets, making him the leading wicket-taker in the history of the tournament. If this wasn’t enough, he also holds the record for the best bowling figures. He achieved this on the 23rd August 2019, when he took 8 wickets for just 15 runs.

On the 13th September 2015, Dhruv Sharma conceded 66 runs from his four overs. This is the most runs conceded in one game by any bowler in the history of the league.

Keep these stats in mind and impress those around you when you are next watching a KPL match.

What Teams Will You See Playing in the Karnataka Premier League

Seven or eight teams compete in this league, but just like with the Indian Premier League(IPL), it has not always been the same teams. The table below will show you what teams currently compete in this tournament.

Franchise  Zone  Owners 
Ballari Tuskers  Ballari  Arvind Reddy 
Belagavi Panthers  Belagavi  Gaames Merchandise PVT LTD 
Bengaluru Blasters  Bengaluru  Kalyani Motors 
Bijapur Bulls   Bijapur  Vivid Kreations 
Hubli Tigers  Hubballi  Sushil Jindal and Abhishek Jindal  
Mysuru Warriors  Mysuru  NR Group 
Shivamogga Lions   Shivamogga  R. Kumar 


 In the table below you will see the teams that have competed in this tournament. 


Team  First Appearance  Last Appearance  Owner 
Bangalore Brigadiers 



Brigade Enterprises 
Magalore United 



Fiza Developers 
Provident Bangalore 



Melmont Constructions 



Karbonn Mobiles 
Shamanur Davangere Diamonds 



Shamanuru Shivashankarappa 


What is the Format of the KPL?

From the 2009-10 edition right up until the 2018-19 one, the format was exactly the same. All the teams were placed into one group and played all the other teams once.

The top four teams qualified for the semi-finals, with the team that finished first playing the team that finished fourth, and the team that finished second playing the team that finished third. The winners of these two matches then met in the final to fight for the title. The organisers changed the format for the 2019-20 edition. The teams that finished first and second played each other, with the winner going straight through to the final. The two teams that came third and fourth played each other, with the victorious team playing the team that lost in the first game. The winner of this match will then play the winner of the first match to see who will be crowned champions.

Acquiring Players

Like with the Indian Premier League, an auction is held so that owners can buy players for their team. Each team must have a minimum of fifteen players and a maximum of eighteen. They are also required to pick at least two players from their catchment area.

What Teams Have Held the Cup?

This tournament has been held eight times (there was no competition in 2011, 2012, and 2013). The table below will reveal what teams have won it, the margin of victory, and the runners-up.

Season  Winners  Runners-up  Margin of Victory 
2009-10  Provident Bangalore  Belagavi Panthers 

5 wickets 

2010-11  Mangalore United  Provident Bangalore 

44 runs 

2014-15  Mysore Warriors  Belagavi Panthers 

6 wickets 

2015-16  Bijapur Bulls  Hubli Tigers 

7 wickets 

2016-17  Bellari Tuskers  Hubli Tigers 

35 runs 

2017-18  Belagavi Panthers  Bijapur Bulls 

6 wickets 

2018-19  Bijapur Bulls  Bengaluru Blasters 

7 wickets 

2019-20  Hubli Tigers  Bellari Tuskers 

8 runs  

The Bijapur Bulls are the most successful team as they are the only side that has managed to win the tournament more than once.  

Take a Look at Our League Prognostics

Placing a bet is relatively easy, but if you do so with no prior knowledge to the event that you are betting on, then you are relying completely on luck. Okay, you might get lucky and win, but believe us when we say that your luck is bound to run out at some point. When that happens, you will start losing more than you win. Nobody likes it when that starts to happen.

However, if you take a look at the tips that we provide over on our prognostics page, you can start relying less on luck and more on skill. So, if you are thinking about betting on the Karnataka Premier League, we recommend that you check our prognostics out first.


Best Bookmakers
Review : 10Cric India
Review : 10Cric India

The most popular betting site amongst Indians.

Review : Betway India
Review : Betway India

Betway is amongst the TOP bookmakers in the world.

Review : 22bet India
Review : 22bet India

A worldwide leader in Sports betting. A sure and good choice!

Review : Spin Sports India
Review : Spin Sports India

A major competitor in the world of sports betting.

Review : Royal Panda India
Review : Royal Panda India

A jungle of great odds awaits you!