An Analysis of the Caribbean Premier League

Caribbean-Premier-League cricketThe Caribbean Premier League, also known as the CPLT20 or CPL, is a yearly T20 cricket tournament that was created by Cricket West Indies (CWI). The competition is contested between six franchise teams and takes place during the months of June, July, or August, depending on when the CWI can fit it in. All the useful information about this tournament is provided below.

This Was When the First CPL Took Place

The CWI first announced that there were planning a franchise T20 league for the Caribbean in September 2012. In December the same year, they announced that a deal had been struck with wealthy businessman Ajmal Khan and that the inaugural season of the CPL would take place the following year.

Before the competition was held, the CWI held an auction so that wealthy businessmen had an equal opportunity to purchase the franchise teams that would take part in the competition. Once the teams were sold, there was then the small matter of allowing the new owners to purchase players to play for them.

This was done using the same draft system that the Bangladesh Premier League and the Pakistan Super League make use of. All players that want to compete in the tournament are put into pools and each owner takes it in turns to select players that they want to play for them.

Each team is allowed a squad with no more than 17 players – one of these players has to be an U19 West Indies player and an ICC Americas representative.


On the 13th September 2019, the Trinbago Knight Riders scored 267 runs from their 20 overs, which is the highest score that this competition has seen. They also hold the record for the lowest score, as they were bowled out for 52 runs in just 12.5 overs on the 3rd August, 2013.

Chris Gayle has scored 2325 runs from 72 innings, making him the highest run-scorer in the competition.

The highest individual score is 121*, which was scored by Andrew Russell on the 10th August, 2018.

Shakib Al Hassan took 6 wickets for 6 runs on the 3rd August, 2013, which are the best bowling figures in one match.

James Neesham conceded 68 runs from 4 overs on the 17th September, 2019. These are the worst bowling figures ever seen in a match.

What Teams Are in the BPL?

Six teams currently contest this tournament. All the important information about each team can be seen below.


Stadium Coach Captain


Barbados Tridents

Kensington Oval Phil Simmons Jason Holder

CMG Companies

Guyana Amazon Warriors

Providence Stadium Johan Botha Shoaib Malik

New GPC Inc.

Jamaica Tallawahs

Sabina Park Mark O’Donnell Chadwick Walton

Mitra Group

St Kitts & Nevis Patriots

Warner Park Robin Singh Carlos Braithwaite

City Sports

St Lucia Zouks

Darren Sammy Stadium James Foster Darren Sammy

Not Known

Trinbago Knight Riders

Queen’s Park Oval Brendon McCullum Kieron Pollard

Red Chillies Entertainment & Mehta Group

What Format is Used in This League?

The six teams are placed in one group and each team plays every other team twice. After each team has played ten games, the top four teams go through to play-off stage. Here, the team that finishes first plays the team that came second, with the victorious side heading straight to the final. The losing team then gets a second chance to reach the final by playing the winner of the match between the team that comes third and the team that comes forth.

How Much Does the Winning Team Get?

The table below shows how the prize money is split between the teams.


Prize Money ($)





3rd Place


4th place



What Teams Have Won This Caribbean Tournament?

This competition has six editions, and it has been won by three different teams. The teams that won each season, how much they won by, and who they beat is all displayed below.

Season Winner Runner-up Winning Margin
2013 Trinbago Knight Riders Guyana Amazon Warriors 8 wickets
2014 Trinbago Knight Riders St Kitts & Nevis Patriots 3 wickets
2015 Jamaica Tallawahs Guyana Amazon Warriors 9 wickets
2016 Trinidad Knight Riders Barbados Tridents 20 runs
2017 Barbados Tridents Guyana Amazon Warriors 8 runs (D/L)
2018 Jamaica Tallawahs Guyana Amazon Warriors 7 wickets

 So, the Trinbago Knight Riders are the most successful team, having won the competition three times out of six. The Guyana Amazon Warriors are the unluckiest, having lost in the final four times out of six.

The table below gives a breakdown as to how each team has performed in each edition of this tournament.


2013 2014 2015 2016 2017


Barbados Tridents

3rd W R 5th 5th


Guyana Amazon Warriors

R R 3rd R 3rd


Jamaica Tallawahs

W 3rd 4th W 4th


St Kitts & Nevis Patriots

DNP DNP 6th 6th R


St Lucia Zouks

6th 5th 5th 4th 6th


Trinbago Knight Riders

4th 4th W 3rd W



W = Winners

R = Runners-up

DNP = Did Not Play

Pay Attention to Our Cricket Prognostics

It is fun to bet on cricket, but if you bet on a league or a team that you don’t know much about, then you are setting yourself up to lose some money. Let’s face it, nobody likes to lose money, so you can make sure that this doesn’t happen that often by paying close attention to the cricket prognostics that we provide.

Best Online Bookmakers
Betiton India Review
Betiton India Review

The newest sports betting site for India!

Casumo India Review
Casumo India Review

One of the most well-known and trusted betting sites online

10Cric Review
10Cric Review

The best online cricket bookie in India according to cricket fans!

Betway India Review
Betway India Review

Betway is one of the best cricket betting sites in the world!

22bet India Review
22bet India Review

A leading international sports betting site - a good choice for cricket betting.