Improve Your Knowledge about the Vijay Hazare Trophy

Home » Today’s Match Prediction » Learn More about Eleven Indian Competitions » Improve Your Knowledge about the Vijay Hazare Trophy

The Vijay Hazare Trophy is a 50-over domestic competition that involves the teams that compete in the Ranji Trophy. It was named after Vijay Hazare, who was an Indian cricketer that captained the national side between 1951 and 1953, leading India to their first ever test win, after twenty-five times of asking. If you would like to find out more about this competition, keep reading.

When Did The First Vijay Hazare Trophy Take Place?

In 2002 the BCCI (Board of Control for Cricket in India) declared that the very first Vijay Hazare Trophy would be taking place later that year. Since its inception, it has become a very popular competition in India and has even paved the way for talented cricketers to get selected for the national team.

Below are some fun facts about this competition


Vijay Hazare, after whom the tournament is named, bowled the legendary Sir Don Bradman out twice. A feat he could be very proud of.

Shahbaaz Nadeem, a left-arm spinner, took eight wickets for just ten runs when playing against Rajasthan. By doing this, he broke a twenty-year record that was set by Rahul Sanghvi in a match between Himachal Pradesh and Delhi.

Ajinkya Rahane holds the record for the highest individual score in the Vijay Hazare Trophy. He scored 187 runs for Mumbai against Maharashtra during the 2007/08 season.

Karnataka opener Mayank Agarwal scored 723 runs in eight matches at an average of 90.37 in the 2017/18 Vijay Hazare Trophy. This was a tournament record, but, incredibly so, it still wasn’t enough for him to be selected for the national side.

Don’t forget to share the fun facts with your friends and family members! I’m sure they will be more than happy to learn some new cricket facts.

What Teams Will You Find in the Vijay Hazare Competition?

Twenty-seven teams compete in this tournament. You can find all of these teams in the table below, alongside the stadium that they play in and its capacity.


Cricket Ground 

Andhra Pradesh   Dr. Y.S. Rajasekhara Reddy ACA-VDCA Cricket Stadium  30,000 
Assam  ACA Stadium   40,000 
Baroda  Moti Bagh Stadium   18,000 
Bengal  Eden Gardens  66,349 
Bihar  Moin-ul-Haq Stadium  25,000 
Delhi  Feroz Zhah Kotla  55,000 
Goa  Dr. Rajendre Prasad Stadium   5,000 
Gujarat  Sardar Patel Stadium   110,000 
Himachal Pradesh  Himachal Pradesh Cricket Association Stadium   25,000 
Hyderabad  Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium   55,000 
Jammu and Kashmir  Sher-i-Kashmir Stadium  N/A 
Jharkhand  JSCA International Stadium Complex  39,000 
Karnataka  M. Chinnaswammy Stadium  40,000 
Kerala  Nehru Stadium   75,000 
Madhya Pradesh  Holkar Stadium  30,000 
Maharashtra  Maharashtra Cricket Association Cricket Stadium  34,000 
Mumbai  Wankhede Stadium  45,000 
Odisha  Barabati Stadium   45,000 
Punjab  Punjab Cricket Association IS Bindra Stadium  28,000 
Railways  Karnail Singh Stadium  N/A 
Rajasthan  Sawai Mansingh Stadium  30,000 
Saurashtra  Saurashtra Cricket Association Stadium  28,000 
Services  Palam A Ground   N/A 
Tamil Nadu  M.A Chidambaram Stadium  50,000 
Tripura  Narsingarh Cricket Ground   15,000 
Uttar Pradesh   Green Park Stadium  25,000 
Vidarbha  Vidarbha Cricket Association Stadium  45,000 

What is the Format of the Vijay Hazare Trophy?

From the 2002-03 season right up until the 2014-15 season, the twenty-seven teams were split into five different zonal groups. These can be seen in the table below:



Number of Teams  
North  Delhi, Himachal Pradesh, Haryana, Punjab, Jammu and Kashmir, and Services 


South  Goa, Andhra Pradesh, Tamil Nadu, Kerala, Karnataka, and Hyderabad 


Central  Railways, Vidarbha, Uttar Pradesh, Rajasthan, and Madhya Pradesh 


East  Bengal, Assam, Bihar, Odisha, Jharkhand, Tripura 


West  Gujarat, Baroda, Mumbai, Maharashtra, and Saurashtra 


Each team plays everyone once and the winners from each zone plus the best runner-up qualify directly for the quarter finals. The four other runners-up play against each other and the two winners join the other six teams in a knock-out tournament.

For the 2015-16, 2016-17, and 2017-18 competitions, the zonal groups were dropped for four groups of seven teams. The top two teams in each group qualified for the knock-out stage.

For the 2018-19 tournament, the teams were split into three elite groups and a plate group. Two of the elite groups had nine teams and the third one had ten. The plate group was made up of nine teams. The average points that a team amassed over the last three seasons determined what group they were placed in.

Which Teams Have Won This Cup?

Year  Winner  Runners-Up 
2002-03  Tamil Nadu  Punjab 
2003-04  Mumbai  Bengal 
2004-05  Tamil Nadu and Uttar Pradesh (shared)   
2005-06  Railways  Uttar Pradesh 
2006-07  Mumbai  Rajasthan 
2007-08  Saurashtra  Bengal 
2008-09  Tamil Nadu  Bengal 
2009-10  Tamil Nadu  Bengal 
2010-11  Jharkhand  Gujarat 
2011-12  Bengal  Mumbai 
2012-13  Delhi  Assam 
2013-14  Karnataka  Railways 
2014-15  Karnataka  Punjab 
2015-16  Gujarat  Delhi 
2016-17  Tamil Nadu  Bengal 
2017-18  Karnataka  Saurashtra 
2018-19  Mumbai  Delhi  

So, as you can see, this table shows that Tamil Nadu is the most successful team in the history of this competition. Bengal, on the other hand, are the unluckiest as they have appeared in the final five times and have only gone on to win it one time.

Take a Good Look at Our Match Prognostics

We provide prognostics for many matches in this tournament, so take the time to give them a read if you are thinking about placing some wagers on some matches that are taking place in it. The tips that we provide will definitely improve your odds of winning your bets.

Best Online Bookmakers
Betiton India Review
Betiton India Review

The newest sports betting site for India!

Casumo India Review
Casumo India Review

One of the most well-known and trusted betting sites online

Funbet India Review
Funbet India Review

A new betting site in India, with great offers for new members.

10Cric Review
10Cric Review

The best online cricket bookie in India according to cricket fans!

Betway India Review
Betway India Review

Betway is one of the best cricket betting sites in the world!