Tamil Nadu Premier League

The Tamil Nadu Premier League, or the TNPL for short, is, as the name suggests, a Twenty20 domestic Indian tournament that takes place in Tamil Nadu. It was created by the Tamil Nadu Cricket Association and is sponsored by the Indian Cement Company. It is contested by eight teams over a period of around four weeks in July and August. More interesting information about this tournament can be found below.

Tamil Nadu Premier League 2021

The fifth edition of the Tamil Nadu Premier League was initially scheduled to run from June 10 to July 12 2020, but was cancelled due to the COVID-19 pandemic. It is speculated that the tournament will now occur in March 2021. There are eight teams in the league, and the current champions are the Chepauk Super Gillies. They are also the league's most successful team having won the title in 2017 and 2019.

When Did the Tamil Nadu Premier League First Start?

tamil nadu premier league

This is one of the youngest cricket competitions out there as the very first edition took place in 2016. Just like with the Indian Premier League and the Karnataka Premier League, before the inaugural season of this competition started, there was an auction, so companies had the chance to win the rights to sponsor the teams that participate.

Here are some fun stats about this relatively new competition

On the 12th August 2017, the Kovai Kings scored 197 runs from their allotted twenty overs. This is the highest score that he been scored in this tournament. On the 13th August 2017, the Tuti Patriots beat Madurai SG by 137 runs, which is the biggest margin of victory that this young competition has seen. Kumaran Bharath Shankar scored 112* on the 11th August,2017, making him the batsman with the highest score so far in this tournament. Washington Sundar has scored 459 runs in nine innings, meaning he has scored more runs than any other player in this competition. Ravisrinivasan Sai Kishore has taken 17 wickets in 10 innings, meaning he has got more batsmen out than any other player in this tournament. On the 2nd August 2017, Jagatheesan Kousik conceded 52 runs from his allotted four overs. This gave him the unwanted record of being the bowler that conceded the most runs in one match.

"So, the next time you and your friends are talking about this league, you can throw some of these stats into the conversation to impress them."

What Teams Play in this Premier League?

As this is a pretty recent competition, the same eight teams have contested the four tournaments that have been held so far. The table that you can see below will show you what teams are competing, what city they are from, and who their owners are.

Franchise City Owners
Chepauk Super Gillies Chennai Metronarion Chennai Television Private Limited
Lyca Kovai Kings Coimbatore Lyca Productions
Dindigul Dragons Dindigul Take Solutions LTD
Trichy Warriors Tiruchirapalli Ruby Builders
iDream Karaikudi Kaalai Karaikudi iDream Cinemas and iDream Properties
Siechem Madurai Panthers Madurai Pooja Damodaran
Tuti Patriots Tirunelveli Thoothukudi JONES
V. B. Kanchi Veerans Kanchipuram V. B. Chandreasekhar

What Format Does the Tamil Nadu Use?

In the four tournaments that have taken place so far, the format used has been the same. All eight teams are placed into one group and each team plays everyone once. The top four teams will then qualify for the play-off stage. Here, the teams that finished first and second will play each other, with the winning team going straight to the final. The losing team will have another chance as they will play for a place in the final against the winner of a match between the teams that finished third and fourth.

How Players Are Acquired

Just like with other Twenty20 franchise competitions, there is an auction before the competition starts that allows owners to buy the best players for their team. Each squad has to have a minimum of sixteen players and a maximum of twenty-two. Furthermore, each owner must ensure that their team has at least two players from the district that the team is from.

These Are the Cricket Teams That Have Lifted this Trophy?

The table below reveals the winners of each of the four editions, the runners-up, and the winning margin.

Season Winner Runner-up Margin of Victory
2016 Tuti Patriots Chepauk Super Gillies 122 runs
2017 Chepauk Super Gillies Tuti Patriots 6 wickets
2018 Siechem Madurai Panthers Dindigul Dragons 7 wickets
2019 Chepauk Super Gillies Dindigul Dragons 12 runs

If you want a complete breakdown of each team’s performances over the four competitions, check out the table below.

Season 2016 2017 2018 2019
Chepauk Super Gillies 2nd 1st 8th 1st
Lyca Kovai Kings 4th 4th 3rd 5th
Dindigul Dragons 3rd 6th 2nd 2nd
Trichy Warriors 7th 7th 6th 7th
iDream Karaikudi Kaalai 5th 3rd 4th 8th
Siechem Madurai Panthers 8th 8th 1st 3rd
Tuti Patriots 1st 2nd 5th 6th
V. B. Kanchi Veerans 6th 5th 7th 4th

Remember to Read Our Match Prognostics

If you feel like it, you can place bets without knowing much about the competition that you are betting on. However, if you do this, you are leaving everything up to luck which, in our humble opinions, is not a good idea as everyone’s luck runs out in the end. What we recommend is that you head on over to our prognostics page and read the tips that we have provided. If you do this, you can really improve your chances of walking away with successful bets.